Book Review: The Surgeon by Tess Gerritson

The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles #1)The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jane Rizzoli is a new homicide detective who feels she has to prove herself and Thomas Moore is an older homicide detective who has lost his wife. They enter into a work relationship once a “copycat” serial killer enters the picture. This predator picks women who have been victims of rape. This is the only commonality they have for most of the book until it becomes clear there has been another motive. The killer is obviously nicknamed the surgeon for the gruesome things he does prior to his acts of murder.
My first read of the Rizzoli & Isles series. I found it odd the Isles half wasn’t in it. No matter, I thought it a good read and read it in one night. I was far enough in that I couldn’t put it down until I was through because I wanted to know about the second gunshot. I liked this story and even though the ending was pretty ho-hum, there were enough spots where the author entwined some very smart ways the killer gained entry to his victims. I liked the “trojan horse” way at the end. But I didn’t like Rizzoli and didn’t feel she was fleshed out into a real character, but the Thomas Moore character was which I thought odd.
I will more than likely read another book or books in this series.

View all my reviews

keep coloring outside the lines,

Book Review: The Surgeon by Tess Gerritson

Leave a Reply

