The Last Passenger by Manel Loureiro

The Last PassengerThe Last Passenger by Manel Loureiro

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The book starts out in 1939 with a coal boat entering a thick fog and finding a luxury cruise ship in it. The boat should be filled with people. There is food still warm and drinks still cold. Yet there is not one person on board, except one small baby wrapped in a blanket in the middle of the floor.
Then you are introduced to Kate, a reporter who has just recently lost her husband who was also a reporter for the same paper. Gripped still by grief, her editor offers her the chance to write the story her husband was working on when he died. It was about the long ago abandoned luxury cruise ship, the Valkyrie. Kate finds that the old boat had been bought by a man some considered to be a mobster, who had paid a great sum for it. In trying to talk to him, she trespasses on his property and is brought in by security.
From that point on, the book runs full steam ahead blending the past with the present and the present with the past. Kate is never completely sure of which world she is in at times.
Some scenes or descriptions made me think of other things I have read or seen. Two books that popped into my head while reading it were Tommyknockers and The Shining by Stephen King and I was also reminded of a movie, The Fog.
I liked this book and thought it was a pretty quick read on my Kindle. I would most likely watch a movie based on this book. If done right, I could see myself enjoying it.

**For people who are offended by sexual scenes, there are some – so beware. Sexual scenes do not bother me in books or movies if there is a reason for it. I am not so sure with this. I don’t think they had to be so graphically written. I can see a reason (barely) but I think it would have been so much more powerful if the scenes would have been more subtle and more emotional than physical. And in saying that, I absolutely hated the ending.

So–> Did anyone else read The Last Passenger? What did you think? Let me know in comments!!

Keep coloring outside the lines,
jackie.bzah

The Last Passenger by Manel Loureiro

Leave a Reply

