Where Am I?

The hard part about getting real about my situation is actually writing down numbers and acknowledging the debt hole I have fallen into.

Yesterday I ordered some Christmas gifts. Two from LL Bean and one from Amazon. The first denials came from Amazon. I found that I am over my limit on my Amazon Credit Card. That really didn’t come as a surprise and maybe a relief. I wouldn’t dare ask for more credit, which unfortunately I know they would give me. One thing I do have is good credit. It took a few tries to get things right but I was grateful that I had a $100 Visa Giftcard that I had been holding back for something special for myself. Too bad.

The second thing that happened because I honestly wasn’t thinking about using the card also on the LL Bean order. Good grief. But there was a very nice lady from Maine that called me on the phone and advised me the order didn’t go through. Thank God LL Bean does this instead of just not fulfilling the order. She was very understanding after I actually just told her the truth about the credit card. I used my bank debit instead and the order should be here by this coming Thursday. Very nice, friendly customer service LL Bean!

So afterward, I looked at my bank account and wrote down some numbers. I’m still trying to act like I am not in a complete state of emergency. But I think the very first thing to do is to figure out exactly where I actually am.

Credit card #1 — $1382.81 (A 0% card that is soon to start having a rate)
Credit card#2  — $2628.77 (The Amazon card)
Car payoff — $1621.88

I’m not even going to think about the mortgage. I live in a small house which  I will probably always live in. I refinanced a few years ago so that bill is something to worry about after everything else is caught up and in stable condition, if ever. Not being negative, but at this point I can’t see a time when I would be able to put more into that particular payment. Right now I am very grateful to have a roof over my head and a warm spot in the winter/cool in the summer for me and my cats.

Those are the three big things that are most important at this point, other than paying the monthly living bills. Those include necessities: utilities, internet, gas, food.  I have cable internet which I count as a necessity because it serves for free online education, paying bills, information resource and entertainment (TV). Gas for the vehicle is a necessity since I work a full-time job.

I plan on going through all of my bills at some point and seeing what I can change for the better. Some things have entered my mind already. I have already ditched cable TV a couple of years ago due to being unable to afford the high cost. I have Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon Prime which I watch through a Roku box. More on the Roku box later – I can’t say enough about it. But maybe I can lose one of those services…maybe. On utilities I may be able to find ways to not use so much or use at a time when it’s cheaper. Looking into the gas, maybe going 60 instead of 70 would lengthen the time before I have to refill. And food obviously is the one thing I can definitely change the cost. Options would be growing food, using coupons, preserving food, not spending at work, etc.

So as you can see I have a lot of thoughts, but I am not going to jump into trying to do everything all at once like I normally do. I always end up defeated because I overwhelm myself. So slow and steady wins the game (I hope).

Keep coloring outside the lines,
jackiebzah

Where Am I?

Leave a Reply

